Touch of Smoke by Karissa Laurel

43747446

Story 3.5 of 5 stars

Heat 4 of 5 stars

Hero – Owen Amir

Heroine – Erika ‘Rikki’ Albermarle

I liked a lot about this story and there were elements I didn’t. Owen was an interesting character, a quiet hero and vet, seeking to set down roots and live a quiet life, when he meets Rikki he wants her to be part of that life. I had problems liking Rikki, the wishy, washy, back and forth about seeing Owen went on so long that it became annoying. The story goes back and forth from when Rikki and Owen met to the event that sends Rikki fleeing, to the present when Rikki returns trying to kill her uncover a monster and free herself from the monsters from her dreams. It takes almost the entire story to find out what happened and why Owen is different. When these guys were working as a couple I really liked their energy and connection but Rikki’s waffling kept feeling like a slap in the face. The supporting characters were interesting and a great addition. I liked most of the story, it had interesting twists and handled the transitions really well. I liked how she handled Owen’s Arabic roots, and mythology.

I received a copy of this book from &NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment