Halfway There by Eve Langlais

50483844. sy475

Story 3 of 5 stars

Heat 1 of 5 stars

Series – Midlife Mulligan

Main Character – Naomi Rousseaux

Naomi is a middle aged woman that has let herself go, her husband is divorcing her and her life is about to take a dramatic change. After a series of events Naomi returns to her grandmother’s cabin and a place that had fond memories for her and discovers things are not exactly how she remembered them.

Naomi spends almost 90% of the book beating herself up, with a lot of self-criticism and being old talk. She often sounded like she was in her 60’s or 70’s rather than in her 40’s.

The story is very slow paced and while several men make overtures toward her no romance is realized in this first book of the series and most of her suitors aren’t very likeable. The author teases you throughout the book with paranormal incidents making your question is it magic or something else. The ending resolves some things but leaves way more items unresolved enticing you to read the next book in the series to see what happens next.

I’m conflicted in this review as I kept expecting romance from one of Naomi’s admirers and for Naomi to turn herself around much earlier than she did, leaving me feeling impatient with so much of Naomi’s belaboring her age and shortcomings and failing to see her strengths. In saying that there’s a lot of potential and interesting characters that will have me reading book two in the series.

I received an ARC copy and am voluntarily leaving a review. That said I expect any editing issues will be resolved before publishing. If you like my reviews I hope you will follow my blog.

Leave a comment