Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones, narrated b y Lorelei King

13538992

Story 3.75 of 5 stars

Heat 5 of 5 stars

Series – Charley Davidson

Main Characters – Charlotte Jean ‘Charley’ Davidson, Reyes Alexander Farrow, Cookie Kowalski

Listened to audio narrated really well by Lorelei King. She really brings out all the colorfulness to these characters and their various attitudes.

The same snarky Charley but a wounded one, suffering from PTSD. Charley isn’t living life and her family and friends decide to intervene in unconventional ways.

This installment is a lot about helping Charley heal, revealing more about the demons, Ryes, and Charley helping a young woman who believes someone is trying to kill her.

The snark and one liners are high and while I really enjoyed most of the banter, sometimes it felt too much, I wanted the characters to more than one liners dealing with all the heavy stuff that comes their way. I’m also not sure how much I appreciated some of the people in Charlie’s life either, some of their behavior is appalling. Reyes and Charlie may have a burning passion for each other but their timing feels so out of sync with what’s happing around them it doesn’t seem to blend with the story.

I can’t say too much without giving big things away except to say events will surprise and shock you and some parts will make you wonder why we took that side trip.

If you like my reviews I hope you will follow my blog.

Leave a comment