King of the Murgos by David Eddings, narrated by Cameron Beierle

983153

Story 3 of 5 stars

Heat 1 of 5 stars

Series – The Malloreon

Main characters – King Garion, Belgarath, Polgara, Ce’Nedra, Durnick, Errand, Silk

Listened to audio narrated by Cameron Beierle. He’s easy to listen to, with good character differentiation.

Garion, Ce’nedra, Belgarath, Polgara, Durnick, Errand and Silk are on the hunt for Zandramas, who stole Garion and Ce’nedra’s baby. They must also be in the right place, at the right time, and making the right decisions, to stop the world from falling into evil.

Garion is now King of Riva and married to Ce’Nedra. It’s been fourteen years since the Belgariad and I’d hoped these characters had grown. There are glimmers of wisdom and great leadership but too often these two fall back into teenage behaviors. There are too many moments of Garion behaving as a boy instead of a King and Ce’Nedra comes across as helpless, whiney, and almost idiotic, little girl. It made for frustrated reading, disabling any suspension of disbelief.

Their journey is long, with a lot of detours and almost no sense of urgency one would expect. However, the author repeatedly states all these things must happen before the final meeting but the mind-numbing pace is making me not sure I care about the ending.

As I’ve wrote in the previous review on this series I had fond memories of this series, but re-reading it now it just seems to plod along. The characters I loved fell flat, showed very little growth, are too simplistic and sometimes ridiculous. It was easy to listen to, but the story doesn’t stand the test of time.

For more of my reviews follow my blog at https://wyldheartreads.wordpress.com/

If you prefer to listen to my reviews, you can find my reviews on Spotify here: https://anchor.fm/wyldheart-reads

Leave a comment