Cupid’s Arrow by Susan English

60128741. sy475

Story 3 of 5 stars

Heat 3 of 5 stars

Series – Shambhala Saga

Main characters – Pavani

This is the second book in the Shambhala Saga. It picks up where ‘Callisto 2.0’ ends. The women of Arcadia are in shock, grieving the loss of their friends and fellow co-workers and getting ready for the military to arrive.

While Callisto left with many others on the Shambhala space station, biologist Pavani Namepeyo stayed behind. This book is Pavani’s daily journal to Callisto, detailing the day-to-day activities and drama happening on Arcadia after they left.

Like the previous book there’s a significant amount of ideology repeatedly pushed at the reader that doesn’t seem to add value to the story. There are a lot of interesting moments in between the author dumping information rather than letting us see through the story what she’s trying to say.

I wanted to like this story but by the end I was left asking myself what was the point? Almost nothing moved forward in this second book and there were definitely moments that broke suspension of belief, pulling me out of the story. My hope is that this is a case of middle book syndrome and the next book will be better.

For more of my reviews follow my blog at https://wyldheartreads.wordpress.com/

If you prefer to listen to my reviews, you can find my reviews on Spotify here: https://anchor.fm/wyldheart-reads

#wyldheartreads @wyldheartreads #romancereads #booksofinstagram #romancebooksofig #igreads #lovestory #bibliophile #bookstagram #romanceaddict

Leave a comment